Who We Are

Regis St. Michael’s Faculty of Theology is a federation of Regis College, rooted in the Jesuit-Ignatian tradition, and the University of St. Michael’s College, rooted in the Basilian tradition. The Congregation of the Sisters of St. Joseph and the Loretto Sisters have been a vital part of the life and mission of both colleges. Regis St. Michael’s is an integral part of the Toronto School of Theology consortium in the University of Toronto.

Decorative watermark of CN tower and Toronto skyline
abstract art

Our Mission

As a collaborative and inclusive community rooted in the vision of our founders, the Jesuits and the Basilians, our mission is to discern the significance of the Word of God in contemporary contexts. This mission is informed by a commitment to critical and creative theological inquiry, excellence in research and scholarship, and the formation of the whole person. We engage in meaningful and constructive dialogue in ecumenical, multi-cultural, multi-faith and social justice environments in service to church and world.

We Value

  • The significance of faith as essential to human flourishing.

  • The integration of theology and spiritualities.

  • Care for “our common home” (Laudato si’).

  • Movements of reconciliation, peace and hospitality.

  • Diversity, equity and collegiality.


In 2022, the University of St. Michael’s College Faculty of Theology federated with Regis College to create a single academic entity, called the Regis St. Michael’s Faculty of Theology.

The Regis St. Michael’s Faculty of Theology (RSM) offers a number of conjoint degree programs. The MDiv, MTS, and MRE degrees specialize in education and formation for ministry, including ordained ministry, religious education and other pastoral ministries, especially in the Catholic Church. The ThM affords the opportunity for further study to those who have completed an MDiv. The DMin Program offers advanced level theological reflection and research on the practice of ministry. The MA, and PhD programs are designed to provide a research-oriented education for those preparing to teach and pursue research in universities, seminaries or schools of theology.

Decorative background


Regis College and the University of St. Michael’s College Faculty of Theology are accredited by the Association of Theological Schools.